Some of the lessons I’ve learned over the past few years. I started taking notes like these, toying with the idea of putting together a guide for « anxious older 20-somethings ». (Most sentences are quotes -I apologize, I do not have the sources. If you recognize one of them, please let me know).

18761_235544748330_551723330_3103053_6290011_n

  • We all think we’re pretty smart
  • There will always be someone smarter than you
  • Everyone you will ever meet knows something you don’t
  • Try to quit the “are we there yet?” mindset (OH! so important)
  • Don’t keep score, if you help someone they don’t owe you anything
  • Work hard to create what you want, but don’t try and control the outcome. Give it room for things fall into place
  • Don’t blame yourself too harshly — enjoy the process of learning, accepting the stage that you’re at, and continuing to refine your knowledge and work hard (Yep, cheesy and very Gen-Y-y, but still a good reminder)
  • Keep a log of information relevant to what you’re trying to change
  • “Inaction breeds doubt and fear. Action breeds confidence and courage. If you want to conquer fear, do not sit home and think about it. Go out and get busy.”-Dale Carnegie
  • Anxiety means we’re doing something real that excites us (I disagree with this one most of the time but will keep it in the list till I understand it)